05

VS5YearsDesign

Rumor has it, we’ve hit the 5 year mark. Frankly, that’s more than a rumor, since this blog has indeed been around for half a decade.

Changes have been made to the way it looks, what gets featured, how it gets featured, though, in the end, Vând Sunete is still very much the same. That blog you’ve seen at the beginning of 2011 has managed to keep the one thing that got it off the ground: the passion for music. The posts reflect the appreciation I have for trance and progressive in general, and more recently breaks and chillout, serving as a repository of sorts. Another way to look it is maybe a record of my ever changing preference in music, which you folks have gotten to see clearly in the last five years.

The most recent of those five saw some awesome developments as far as ReWind and our annual week-long special feature are concerned. For 2015 this annual experiment of sorts was dedicated to Breaks.

VS5ReWindl

The ReWind series exists as merely an aid in the discovery (or rather, rediscovery) of the unintentionally forgotten, or the often overlooked tracks of yesteryear.

This series celebrates its two year anniversary tomorrow, a period of time in which it has brought to the fore a good few forgotten tracks of yesteryear. As hinted last January, 2015 has been a year in which both the blog and ReWind started to become a little more inclusive of productions from the downtempo end of the spectrum.

I’m honestly not sure how it’s going to evolve or what changes I’m going to implement in 2016, though I suppose that’s precisely the exciting bit about it. To understand what is now, you need to understand what’s been before, and with ReWind I’m hoping to do just that. Curious folks look below, as you’ll find artworks 51 through 88 of the series in this one image…thingy.

Artworks for ReWind 051-088

Artworks for ReWind 051-088

Onwards and upwards, yes?🙂VS5BreaksWeek

Following its various siblings from the previous years, 2015 brought in Breaks Week, a 7 day tour of everything Breaks.

I have to give credit to Chris Voro for introducing me to the genre, and since this site is about recommending music to you people, that got me thinking if a week dedicated to this new thing I had discovered was indeed something I should do. You know the rest.🙂

Featuring originals from Bad TangoChris Voro & VictimsFatboy SlimPrizm & Eclipse, plus remixes from MagnusDigital Department and John Dopping, the entire thing was one of my proudest achievements. I can’t tell you how glad I am to have done this and how thankful I am to Chris for making me appreciate the genre.

On the off chance that you have missed it, click here to get familiar with Breaks Week.🙂

Breaks Week Main

There’s some more stuff I’d like to bring to your attention, starting with what I probably should’ve done when VS had its major rebrand in 2014. Hey, better late than never.🙂

VS5LogoStory

Two years ago (damn, has it been that long?), this blog got a little bit of a visual refresh. Although I did compare the old to the new back then, I didn’t go into great detail about the creation process of the current logo. Wouldn’t it be nice, I thought, to share a little behind the scenes look at how it came to be? Well, that’s exactly what you’re getting below.

The process started near the end of October 2013, and took a tad over 2 and a half months to bring to completion. During the first month, I began researching all I could on logo design, typography and the like, hoping to keep mistakes to a minimum. Having gone to art school (1st through 12th grade), I was able to get to grips with the terms easily, which did speed up the entire process.

Pen and paper

Late November to mid December of that year was dedicated to coming up with ideas for the logo, starting from the original and working through several different concepts and arrangements. All this was done in pencil (and later ballpoint pen) on an old agenda I had lying around. Here’s a little picture for you to get a better idea:

VSLogoCreationPaperMain

I went for everything from speakers, to sine waves, to a sort of origami arrangement, to notes written on a staff. Later, the logo symbol started to take on more of a circular shape, with half the circle representing vinyl and the other Wi-Fi. This was done to underline the fact that Vând Sunete was a place where you could find older tracks or classics (represented by vinyl) and newer tracks (represented by the Wi-Fi symbol, and alluding to music streaming via services like Spotify).

Further down on the second page, you can see a version that takes cues yet again from the oldschool, presenting the V and the S almost like a vinyl in a sleeve. That idea didn’t last though, so I moved on to other approaches, this time placing the V and S in various different combinations, on top of each other, to the right and so on. On page three, the final symbol drawn in ballpoint pen marked the beginning of the digital side of this visual transformation.

Digital

The circular logo symbol was definitely very appealing to me, which is why I started with this:

VS2014.001

Though the founder hadn’t been involved in the day to day activities of Vând Sunete for a while, I did think it was appropriate to ask him for input on the version you see above. One thing led to another and the logo saw a noticeable change, making it a little less subtle when viewed from afar. In fact, the accompanying font also got changed, though it did take a while. Some variants included:

VS2k14Draft02Naturally, after I had settled on the font, I tried to see how the logo would look in context, and what you see below is my attempt at combining different versions of the logo symbol and type with a few different coloured backgrounds.

VS2014.1

At one point, the whole thing just started to not look right to me, leading to a different approach. Using bolder typography and distancing the concept from a strictly black and white presentation in favor of a more colourful look, I did this:

vscover2

VS2014v003

Despite it veering towards a slightly cartoon-ish look, the incarnation you see above got me very excited for what was the imminent rebranding of the blog. I went so far as to create banners, profile pictures and covers using this version, because I enjoyed the look of the logo symbol (the V and S in the square) so much. That said, the logo type looked somewhat weird, so I ditched it, in favour of what was to become the winning version of the logo.

Sure, what you see up there in the site’s header isn’t perfect. I never claimed it was, but for a first attempt, I think it looks pretty good. And damn, was it fun to put together.🙂

VS5Freebies

Last year, I offered you folks a couple of VS branded wallpapers, but what you might not have known is that a third version was actually made. Instead of it just sitting here gathering dust (of the digital sort), I’d rather put it up for download. Maybe you find this to your liking:

VS White

VS White

Available resolutions: 2560×1440, 1920×1200, 1920×1080, 1680×1050, 1440×900, 1280×800, 1280×720.

VS White

I won’t make you scroll any more than I’ve already done so.

I’ll end by giving a great big thank you to the founder, for giving me the opportunity to write for this blog all those years ago and to all you awesome people who have supported Vând Sunete through your method of choice. I’d also like to thank the producers, labels and PR people who’ve responded to my (at times late) emails and inquiries. You’re all people and have your own stuff to deal with, so I’m incredibly grateful for the time you’ve given me.

Now this post is really done. Honestly.😀

So, what do you think? :)

