Danny Stubbs ft. Issa – Voices In The Dark (Magnus Remix)

Danny Stubbs ft. Issa - Voices In The Dark EP

Danny Stubbs ft. Issa – Voices In The Dark EP

In case you doubted Scott Bond‘s dedication to quality over quantity for his REBOOTED imprint, this release (which is the 3rd since the label’s launch in early 2014) should once more highlight the mission statement. The latest to join the back catalogue is Danny Stubbs and Issa‘s Voices In The Dark.

I usually feature an entire EP, but in this case I’ll make an exception and focus on a single track. Have a wild guess as to which one it is.😀

What struck me about Magnus‘ remix (apart from his distinctive and very melodic psy sound) were the vocal chops. They offer such a pleasant extra layer of depth to what was an already quite complex, but very enjoyable production. As you know, I’m not much of a fan of vocal tracks anymore, but from time to time one does grab my attention. Frankly, with that instrumental and those vocals (which aren’t overpowering the arrangement as I’ve heard in other cases), I think I’d almost prefer the vocal version to a dub one (if the latter ever gets released).

A key aspect for me is the way a track builds, and in this case there’s nothing to criticize. As usual, there’s a lot of complexity, but it’s all arranged in a very orderly fashion, and flows so well. I’d be very curious to see how the magic happens as they say.🙂

In order to ensure that what I feature isn’t just subject to the novelty effect, each track gets a minimum of 5 spread out listens, either days or even weeks apart. Sure, it’s time consuming, but it’s an attempt to ensure that a track stands on its own merit, and not just the fact that it’s new. Since November, Mike’s remix has had plenty of ‘testing’ and I’m happy to report that I’m as pleased with it as I was two months ago. Awesome, awesome psy-trancer. Heck, even Armin enjoys this one. Just play the sample below and you’ll hear for yourself.😀

The Magnus remix joins the Original, Ahmet Atasever, Amos & Riot Night and Scott Bond & Charlie Walker REBOOTED mixes for a January 19th release date.

I hope those voices in the dark like Magnus‘ rework as much as I do.🙂

Release Date: 19.01.2015

Country: UK / Style: (Vocal) Psy Trance / Year: 2015 / Label: REBOOTED

Listen. If you enjoyed it, hit that like button. Even better still, share & comment if you liked it.😀

One thought on “Danny Stubbs ft. Issa – Voices In The Dark (Magnus Remix)

  1. Pingback: [Look Back] 2015 Top 20 | Vând Sunete

So, what do you think? :)

